LeftyBassist.com

The online home for southpaw bassists.
It is currently April 28th, 2024, 5:27 am

Post subject: Do I need the pick?
PostPosted: November 22nd, 2009, 6:23 pm 

I am new to the bass and my teacher says not to worry about using a pick. I am not sure he ever uses one. I have read that it is important to know how to use one. Unsure if this is true...can someone enlighten me? I am assuming that it depends on the sound you are after. [I see that Sir Paul used on commonly, and I have a Hofner Club.] Thanks,

Post subject: Re: Do I need the pick?
PostPosted: November 22nd, 2009, 6:50 pm 

Practice with and without a pick. It's just a sound/preference thing.

www.twitter.com/ReallyMattRoss

Penguins is practically chickens.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2009, 7:45 am 

Do what YOU want, and pay no attention to what anyone here tells you you have to do, including me.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2009, 10:40 am 

whether or not to use a pick really depends on what your personal goals as a player are

do you want to be an on-call studio session player? if yes, becoming skilled with a pick will be critical if you ever work on other artists sessions where the lead engineer determines that the bass parts will be recorded with a pick. you could always argue against using a pick, and you might even get to stay and complete the session activities for that day ... but you have a good chance of not getting a call back for other projects where that engineer is the lead dog

choosing to play with a pick is all about becoming versitile in your capabilities to serve the band leader you've been hired to accompany and support. if they want the attack sound of a pick, you'll need to have your skills ready to provide them that sound. in the same way, if they want a P-bass with flats, or Stanley/Marcus/Hamm styled slap, or Geddy/Squire/Sheehan inspired fills - you need to come prepared to deliver IF that's what your playing goals are