LeftyBassist.com

The online home for southpaw bassists.
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 2:29 am

Post subject: choosing a luthier
PostPosted: November 10th, 2010, 7:08 am 

Any tips on picking a luthier to build a bass? How do I know what is a realistic pricing parameter vs unrealistic? I have inquired so far to three(3) luthiers regarding building a 7-string bass possibly a headless model(unsure). The 2nd luthier B-4 we agreed to anything and on our second communication stated they will upping their 2011 prices by 10% and I should get my commitment in B-4 this happens to secure my 2010 pricing. We havent even discussed electronics,inlay or even body style yet. Needless to say I was a little put off by their aggressive approach ( hurry up or I will mark up). I am troubled that so many will increase their pricing just because it is a lefty. Any thoughts?

Post subject: Re: choosing a luthier
PostPosted: November 10th, 2010, 9:32 am 

Disclaimer: I am a builder. I do not currently offer 6 (or more) string basses. This is NOT a solicitation for business

- first and foremost, you should study what a builder has created to determine if you like their offerings. if you're looking for a neck-thru 15-string lefty bass, it probably doesn't make sense to send a RFQ to a builders who specializes in Fender replicas. this is paramount and should be given your top consideration far and above any pricing structure