LeftyBassist.com

The online home for southpaw bassists.
It is currently April 23rd, 2024, 3:14 am

Post subject: Instrument height - how's it hangin'?
PostPosted: January 30th, 2010, 9:36 am 

Despite the fact that I've been playing for over 25 years, one of the joys I get out of playing is discovering many new things about the instrument and my playing preferences. Recently I began experimenting with different strap heights to see how it would affect my playing and to counteract instrument weight/balance. Generally speaking, I am now playing with my basses slung higher up (Low E string positioned just under my chest). On a Jazz bass, I'm finding the instrument weight better balanced, my control and evenness of playing improved, and with less fatigue overall, especially in slapping. The only issue I do see, with an instrument higher, however, is the bent wrist syndrome, which is unavoidable given the instrument's height now. For now, at least, the benefits are outweighing that. Note that on other instruments I am not doing this, as in a 34" scale bass, or basses with less of an upper horn or poorly balanced (like a T-Bird), since the higher strap has an adverse effect. (i.e. lowest frets feel a mile away)

So what's your preference? Do you have your strap height set up differently for different instruments.

Post subject: Re: Instrument height - how's it hangin'?
PostPosted: January 30th, 2010, 1:20 pm