LeftyBassist.com

The online home for southpaw bassists.
It is currently April 25th, 2024, 5:58 am

Post subject: Refret?
PostPosted: April 7th, 2008, 1:37 pm 

Wondering if it's possible to refret a neck that was defretted and the lines filled in with wood putty. It's a rosewood board.

It's from my 1987 Fender mij jazz - years ago, after getting a 5 string bass I foolishly ripped the frets out of this neck thinking I didn't need them anymore. i've been regretting this for a good 12 years or so. It's such a thin, fast neck, but I just never became a fretless player so it's essentially useless to me.

Is it possible? Where would I be able to get something like this done? Or would I just be laughed at?

Also if possible would it be cost effective, or would it make more sense to just get a replacement neck?

Post subject: Re: Refret?
PostPosted: April 7th, 2008, 2:14 pm 
Site Admin

I don't know about cost effectiveness but it's definitely possible to refret. I'm sure Rod will be able to better address this.

PostPosted: April 7th, 2008, 2:57 pm 

it's possible depending on just how rough you were with the fret removal, the filler material you used, and the fretboard wood

is it cost effective? well there are some who will do this as a repair, but I don't because it's really a PITA to do it right and return a neck to fretted without looking like it's been reworked. I definitely applaude those who offer this service and pull it off well. if you find a shop that does this on a 'regular' basis, it might cost you a couple hundred to get the work done

to do it right you need a set-up to precisely re-cut all of the fret slots by hand, recognizing that the slot is not perpendicular to the neck edge. if you used something like an epoxy to fill a Maple fretboard, saw drift will be a concern as the Maple will cut significantly easier than the epoxy will. any drift will result in that fret being inaccurate in its location.