PostPosted: March 6th, 2019, 3:48 pm 

Dammit. Basswood

www.twitter.com/ReallyMattRoss

Penguins is practically chickens.

Post subject: Re: New MIJ sea foam jazz at CME
PostPosted: March 7th, 2019, 2:18 am 

Matt R. wrote:
Dammit. Basswood

I had one jazz bass with basswood body from fender japan. Build quality was great but it didn't resonate very well. Somehow I felt that the wood was "soft".

I actually tried the same neck on an alder body with better results.

PostPosted: March 7th, 2019, 3:23 am 

I've been a luthier/ repairman for over 45 years. I am fairly versed in just what woods sound like, and what myths people believe about what I call the 'tone pie chart' and the ingredients that add up to why a bass plays/ feels/ and sounds like it does.
Even saying that, these are MY opinions. Yours may differ. I own 5 jazz basses, and 4 p-basses. One Fender Japan '62 j reissue, and two Fender Japan p-basses are basswood. Here's the breakdown- One basswood, two maple body jazz's, an ash body jazz, and a Fender Japan alder bodied j bass. I have a Swamp ash P-J Warmoth, a Squier P-J with a custom made neck, maple body, two Fender Japan p-basses with basswood bodies. I also have a USA Customs Ash '51 p-bass ash body, maple neck. After playing all of these instruments on more gigs than I can remember.. I can honestly say, you'll hear more tonal difference with a pickup swap, than with a swap from basswood to alder or ash. I love my basswood J bass, it has EMG's and the BTC system. It is clear articulate, and takes no second place, both prior to the pickup swap, to now- to my other jazz basses. The PROS of basswood, are no pinched neck nerves after a long night playing it.

PostPosted: March 7th, 2019, 5:31 am 

Thanks for you breakdown of the different wood types, I owned several Fender Japan and one was Basswood and I really loved it.

Seafoam Green is one of the colors I have I always wanted.

PostPosted: March 7th, 2019, 5:44 am